New player and just got a week ban

As the title says, I’m new to Forza. Last racing game I played was Gran Tourism 2 or 3 (I’m old and been away from gaming for a while) Got an Xbox and started playing a little over a month ago. I just got banned a week for “S class ramming”. No explanation, no dates or times or screen shots. I submitted a ticket to support and got a copy paste response saying they eviewed it thoroughly and can’t do anything.

I didnt know ramming was a problem but makes sense to discourage it. A warning for a 1st offence would be appropriate. Total online ban is harsh.

For a week I can’t access anything online. No playground games, no auction house not even rivals where I can learn to race better against a ghost.

Is this normal? Why not just ban me from the ranked races or wherever the infraction occured?

I got brave and tried ranked racing because of the playlist and think it likely happened in one of those races. I started rank 12 for some reason (I was expecting 20) and even saw a grand master and lots of 8 & 9s in races. I probably did ram somebody but I’m a [Mod edit - WSD - Profanity and alluding to profanity is against the TOS] driver with no business being ranked that high or racing with grand masters. The ranking and matchmaking system is broke. You can’t even pick what class car race it is so had no choice in the S class race.

Do bans get progressively longer with each infraction? I don’t want longer bans or a permanent ban because i bumped into someone in a race

The whole thing seem too harsh and a poor way to treat players. Especially new players.

Am I an isolated case or do other people get treated this way?

EDIT: My ban is up and I can access everything again. Thanks for the comments and perspective, it’s much appreciated. Happy driving!