Do you wheel or pad

Apologies if this is a previously discussed topic, I’m new to the Forza forums and haven’t skimmed through the history.

I’m properly competitive, probably like the majority of you guys else you wouldn’t be here! However, I feel like I’m personally at a big disadvantage as I play with the Xbox Gamepad rather than a simulation wheel. As I mentioned in an earlier thread I created, I managed a highest ranking of around 7th on Prague Full R Class with the Ferrari 312 in Time Attack Rivals, and tonight I’ve just tipped 13th in the P Class with the Mazda 787-B. But I feel like I’m way out my league whilst playing with the Gamepad. I’ve watched the replays of some of the players in the top 5, and it’s crystal clear from watching the cockpit cam that they use a simulation steering wheel.

Again apologies for stating the obvious, but with a wheel you can make precise steering adjustments, you can put the car exactly where you want it to be, there are few limits to attaining your best time other than your own talent. But with the Gamepad, it’s like driving with only being able to use full/max steering lock! When you turn it’s stick fully to the left or right, you’re effectively ‘flinging’ the car into corners and it’s all about getting timing right on that hard left or right steering lock. Turn a fraction early and you’re into the wall, you can’t really make accurate turn adjustments with the stick. It’s also incredibly difficult to brake and downshift with the clutch simultaneously.

So my question is, does anyone else feel like you’ve hit a point whereby you can’t progress your times further without upgrading to a hardware steering wheel? Or is there anyone out there who has reached top 5 or even No.1 in any Rivals event using the Xbox Gamepad?