3 Pages123Next
#1 Posted : Sunday, January 25, 2015 1:40:49 PM(UTC)
I'm not a programmer and so don't know how hard incorporating a track editor into a game like Forza would be, but if it were possible I think it'd make a great new feature to the series. It'd be especially cool if it had a way of uploading and sharing creations. If you could actually create game quality tracks and share them then IMO (and if the game had a customizable multiplayer system like Forza 4) the game would never get old as there'd always be something new to do.
Think of this reminds me of something I've always wondered, why Turn 10 doesn't make more original tracks. I guess because they want to be associated more with real life and simulating real races, but with all the tracks they've had to scrap between FM4 and FM5 making original tracks would be a way of upping the track count. That's assuming making an original track is an appreciably less amount of work than going out and laser scanning and doing all the rest of what it takes to recreate a real world track, which may or may not be the case. I definitely prefer real life circuits, but more tracks is what I like even more.
#2 Posted : Sunday, January 25, 2015 1:55:31 PM(UTC)
Thinking back over all the T10 created tracks from the series I think they're all better than new F1 tracks such as Yas. A game like Forza doesn't really work on a modern track with miles of run off, no gravel and nothing to make contact with trackside. The low track count in 5 suggests it's slower and more expensive to scan so I wouldn't have a problem at all with some designed tracks. Some, like Maple were every bit as good to race on as replicated real tracks.

I guess an editor would be difficult unless they created a very large and complex track with many cross over points. You could then create your own circuit utilising whichever parts of the track you want in the same way we have short tracks currently.