This site uses cookies for analytics and personalized content. By continuing to browse this site, you agree to this use. Learn more
Rank: Racing Permit
#1 Posted : Saturday, July 13, 2019 7:20:01 PM(UTC)
Ever since the release of Motorsport 5, there's been an annoying quirk with designs that I still can't understand: if you delete a design from your catalog while it's applied to a car, it gets removed from that car. For people like me who want every car in the game and who want each of them to have a livery on them, this makes it complicated to do so.

Thankfully, since Horizon 3 released with the Auction House, there's been a workaround: you can just auction your car at the highest bid/buyout possible, hope to god that no one buys it, and then you can get it back, remove the design from your catalog and have it stay on your car. However, with the recent auction house changes in Horizon 4, this workaround is much less reliable since you can only auction cars for basically pocket change, and it's much more likely someone buys it out.

The frustration factor involved in this makes me wonder: why is this a thing in the first place? In the 360 games, you can just download a design, slap it onto your car, and then remove it immediately. No worries about running out of design slots. Even in FH3-FH4 with the workaround, the car and its design work just fine even after you remove the corresponding design. Why have this needless restriction when it doesn't have any purpose?

TL;DR: Why can't we just download a design, put it on a car, and just remove the design from our catalog and have it stay on the car?

Edited by user Saturday, July 13, 2019 7:21:35 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Rank: A-Class Racing License
#2 Posted : Sunday, July 14, 2019 3:41:23 AM(UTC)
The design on the car has to be stored. This is to protect your hard drive from filling up. There is dedicated space for the designs, and you can't have thousands of designs.

Edited by user Sunday, July 14, 2019 3:42:23 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Rank: Racing Permit
#3 Posted : Sunday, July 14, 2019 4:21:14 AM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: AquaPainter168 Go to Quoted Post
The design on the car has to be stored. This is to protect your hard drive from filling up. There is dedicated space for the designs, and you can't have thousands of designs.


I don't follow. Again, using the workaround to delete a design and have it stay on the car has no known ill effects. Not sure what you're trying to say here.
Rank: A-Class Racing License
#4 Posted : Sunday, July 14, 2019 6:25:43 AM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: iT N1GHTMAR3 Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: AquaPainter168 Go to Quoted Post
The design on the car has to be stored. This is to protect your hard drive from filling up. There is dedicated space for the designs, and you can't have thousands of designs.


I don't follow. Again, using the workaround to delete a design and have it stay on the car has no known ill effects. Not sure what you're trying to say here.


I think that they are still stored. Photo mode has too much detail for them not to be stored.
Rank: Driver's Permit
 1 user liked this post.
#5 Posted : Sunday, July 14, 2019 6:43:15 AM(UTC)
good post and i forsure agree!
Rank: Racing Permit
#6 Posted : Sunday, July 14, 2019 7:32:30 AM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: AquaPainter168 Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: iT N1GHTMAR3 Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: AquaPainter168 Go to Quoted Post
The design on the car has to be stored. This is to protect your hard drive from filling up. There is dedicated space for the designs, and you can't have thousands of designs.


I don't follow. Again, using the workaround to delete a design and have it stay on the car has no known ill effects. Not sure what you're trying to say here.


I think that they are still stored. Photo mode has too much detail for them not to be stored.


100% not stored. That's the whole point, to be able to clear out the design from the catalog list. All the designs still work just fine even after they're deleted from the catalog.
Rank: A-Class Racing License
#7 Posted : Sunday, July 14, 2019 8:04:33 AM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: iT N1GHTMAR3 Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: AquaPainter168 Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: iT N1GHTMAR3 Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: AquaPainter168 Go to Quoted Post
The design on the car has to be stored. This is to protect your hard drive from filling up. There is dedicated space for the designs, and you can't have thousands of designs.


I don't follow. Again, using the workaround to delete a design and have it stay on the car has no known ill effects. Not sure what you're trying to say here.


I think that they are still stored. Photo mode has too much detail for them not to be stored.


100% not stored. That's the whole point, to be able to clear out the design from the catalog list. All the designs still work just fine even after they're deleted from the catalog.


You seem to be confusing catalogue with storage space. That's just a menu, the storage is a link to the menu. Just because it isn't in the menu doesn't mean that it isn't stored.
Rank: Racing Permit
#8 Posted : Sunday, July 14, 2019 6:31:02 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: AquaPainter168 Go to Quoted Post


You seem to be confusing catalogue with storage space. That's just a menu, the storage is a link to the menu. Just because it isn't in the menu doesn't mean that it isn't stored.


In that case, the game functions just fine with over 500 painted cars at a time. FH3 could easily handle a full garage of painted cars, and all the 360 games (which ran on inferior hardware) could as well. There's no reason FH4 shouldn't be able to handle 750 painted cars.
Rank: Racing Permit
 1 user liked this post.
#9 Posted : Sunday, July 14, 2019 7:21:03 PM(UTC)
It's all to do with the 'Game Save' file limit on the Xbox.

Don't quote me but I think the limit is 256mb. Even if it isn't this, the file size is limited.

The save includes all your cars, the game stats such as how many roads driven, races won, cash, etc..

It also includes the screenshot of each cars design, the image which appears in your garage.

On a PC (not sure about Xbox) the main save is one file, and not only is this one file required, but also a couple of folders which include the files for liveries & screenshot.

Only speculative but I'm believing in order to comply with the limitation on file size, PG have coded the game to remove a design from your car when it's deleted from your creative hub to help control the limitation set by Microsoft.

The work around mentioned wasn't coded in the same way, hence when you auction the car (again speculation here) not only does a file for this be created on PG servers for the cars tune and details, but the design is uploaded as well to this server. When a player goes to collect the car after winning or the seller reclaiming both are re-download (Cars info, tune and design) and saved for that car. Hence the design is kept even after deleting from creative hub.

This is why (give it a go if you have a spare car), when auctioning a car with a design it takes a few extra seconds to successfully post v that of one without a design. Same in reclaiming or collecting it takes a few seconds etc for that data to download and save.

Saying that though as stated it's speculative and may be completely different to the above (anyone from PG who'd like to explain please do so), but I've no other explanation for the auction behaviours other than the fact the design is uploaded and re-download hence the difference in times between non and designed cars and hence the workaround mentioned by OP.

Edited by user Sunday, July 14, 2019 7:24:57 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Living life a quarter mile at a time.

Notification

Icon
Error