3 Pages123Prev
#51 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 2:18:53 AM(UTC)
This is a ludicrous situation and you people must be obsessed to have persevered (i.e. not a criticism of you but Microsoft/xBox).

I would never have persevered so much and would not have found the solution without you. I am new to this (xBox and Windows 10) but I will write the fix a different way hoping to help less knowledgeable users:

1. You need to be logged in as an administrator.
2. Enter "services" in the 'Type here to search' window in the bottom left (otherwise known as Cortana) or first hitting the windows key to show the search facility (if necessary).
3. It should find "Services Desktop App". Click on it to open it.
4. Follow these instructions exactly. That is, do not fiddle with anything you do not understand here.
5. Double click on the "Windows PushToInstall Service" item in the list in the right hand panel to open its properties.
6. The 'Startup type' is probably manual. Select Automatic. Click OK and close services.
7. Log out as an administrator and log in as the user you normally would (unless you always log in an administrator).

It should now work. It did for me.

Note: Step 6 is a little different from the solution mentioned by wojtkl1 who wrote to select "Start". I opted to choose "Automatic". Both should work. I choose automatic because:
... I do not want it to run all time although in practice it might anyway (not necessarily a big deal).
... although unlikely, if manual happened to go to stop, for some who knows what reason, the game would eventually crash again, and necessitate repeating the process.
... manual is only really there if automatic does not work, which is unlikely.
As far as I know (I could not test it).

#52 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 6:18:33 AM(UTC)