TrackIR support for ALL FORZA titles

It is high time to implement TrackIR in upcoming FORZA titles (even MS FS2020 is officially supporting it now).
If MS wants its titles to be recognized as “simulations”, this featory is not recommended, it is required…mandatory.
Easy to implement, so what is the deal.
Just sayin’…

2 Likes

I have no experience with TrackIR … so can’t comment on what it would mean for Forza games. But to briefly respond to one of your comments, Forza games are not intended to be and have never claimed to be true racing ‘simulations’.

1 Like

Looks to be some sort of pointless peripheral for head tracking? Hardly mandatory for anything.

1 Like

Not pointless at all. Do you drive staring straight ahead? Probably not. Being able to look into the apex of a corner and read the road and traffic ahead gives much more immersion and improves any vehicle game where you sit in some kind of cockpit. If your used to driving, flying and space games utilizing it on the PC it’s really hard to go back to having no situational awareness.

Even if the devs just added mouse look with a couple of axis you can map to a controller people could use any head tracking device for simple head movement via third party software like Opentrack. That would be the simplest option if the devs don’t want to do much work.

Turning your head to look generally means you’re no longer looking at the screen, making tracking your head movement to move the camera pointless. If you have a multi-screen setup, when you turn your head to look you should be looking where you need to without turning the camera, making tracking your head movement to move the camera pointless. If VR is supported, it typically already handles this sort of thing, making this redundant.

As for mouse look being mapped to the controller - you can already use the right stick to look in that fashion by default.