Total noobie questions, but I am really stuck

I am quite sure that I will get several replies informing me as to just how dumb I am but here goes:

1. Why is it that in rivals I have no way of setting how many laps and it’s always “1 of -”, “2 of -”, etc. How do you get out of the rivals races without just ESC and having no achievement?

2. Why are do some auctions look like people are bidding on them and then when I go to bid it’s purchase options only?

3. Is there really any rhyme or reason to how cars handle? I have about 200 cars and have driven them all. Some of the great sportscars you would think would handle like they were on rails you have to slow down to a crawl to just make it around a corner, and some of the ones that should barely be able to get out of their own way I can make fly around corners.

4. Why on Earth is the drafting set to always give you exclamation marks on fast tracks? Even if I try to stay on the opposite edge of the track I get a ! and if I pass another car and they draft me I get a !. How the heck are you supposed to shake an AI drafter?

5. Is there a way to mute the music but leave the sound effects on? If I have to listen to any more Forza 7 music I am going to drill out my eardrums.

Anyway, let the flaming begin.

Signed,

Apparently Dumb Noobie

1. In rivals you just drive as many laps as you want, trying to climb in the leaderboards. Your laptimes are being recorded, and after quitting you should also receive credits and XP

2. I can’t answer that, rarely ever use the auction house myself

3. Cars are pre tuned (homologated), some better some worse. In the tuning section you can revert the car to its stock form, that should make it that the car will behave more like you would expect. Note that in career homologation is enforced, you can however put the car in its stock form and tune it yourself within the restrictions, or get a tune done by someone else.