The game's software architecture

So here I am, looking at a 105 GB update. And I’m looking at it, with horror, from the downstream end of a 3 Mb DSL connection which will take probably considerably more than 24 hours to complete. When I installed it originally, I seem to remember that the download took about full two days, and this is approximately that size.

Which leads me to a question, if anyone here happens to have an opinion or an answer. As a software dev myself, I’m accustomed to developing applications whose functionality is distributed over a number of files (dynamic load libraries, or DLLs, in my case), each provisioning a separate aspect of the app’s logic: a database interface, one or more UI interface components, data modeling, etc., etc. So if I do some fixes in one or more of those domains I only have to publish the files I’ve made changes in. NOT the entire application.

An alternative is a monolithic application, distributed in a single disk file of perhaps enormous size. A fix, no matter how small or limited, requires the entire file to be published, no matter how few bits have been changed. And it looks to me like FH5 must be of that architecture.

Comments?

1 Like

Have you ever played Jenga?

1 Like

Not sure what the issue is. My update downloaded and installed in about 15 minutes. No idea what the size was. I just left my PC updating while I went and had breakfast. Came back 15 minutes later and my PC dinged that it was all done.

@PandemicBow2072, what’s your download bandwidth?

Fibre 300mb/s.

best comment this complaint could hope for lol, I prefer connect 4 myself