Race tuning tips for American Muscle

Hi, I’m new to tuning for the most part (besides Forza Horizon 2, but I heard the mechanics in 2 aren’t very realistic) and I’ve been trying to tune the first car I got, the 1969 Dodge Charger R/T. I’m very aware of throttle control, and I’m not trying to make this a drag car, but even with trying to control the throttle I’m having some difficulty with losing grip/spinning out at corners. I’ll happily post my tuning, but I’m just looking for some advice without resorting to downloading a tune.

That’s pretty vague… We would need to know what class you are tuning for, whether you are doing any swaps, etc.

The advice for building/tuning a nice B-class muscle car and the advice for building/tuning a V12-swapped AWD S1 class muscle car would be very different.

Three basic tips are:

-Remember that the game chooses/upgrades your opponents to what you build, so outside of some seasonal events with requirements and team adventures, upgrading your car gives you basically no performance advantage relative to your opponents (remember upgrading improperly can hurt your performance though). That means you can upgrade it almost however you want to make it nice to drive and you don’t have to worry about maximizing performance. Once you figure out the game and get used to things, then you can start building more for performance later.

-Don’t over-tire the car. Tires are expensive PI-wise, meaning that you can be very down on power if you put too much tire. That doesn’t mean don’t put tires on it, just don’t go overboard… With some time, you will figure out the thresholds. Definitely do not throw race tires on everything.