Please help me understand how Horizon 5 ended up such an unmitigated disaster

I’m no programmer, but I get the gist of how that works.

It’s very complicated, I get that.

Cyberpunk 2077 was a disaster of biblical proportions, but at least it was a new game.

But before 5, we had Horizon 4, with updates over almost 3 years making it better and better, and even at launch it had very few bugs that were gamebreakers. TBH, I’m not sure it had any.

So, they develop 5, which as far as I can tell, over 4, has a new map (very awesome btw), and accolades (an extension of the concept of the Legoland expansion), and ramps etc in the route creator.

And now, NOTHING works anymore.

Download and apply a tune setup? Crash half the time. That worked fine in 4.

Download and apply a livery? Crash half the time. That worked fine in 4.

Exit an event? Wait 10 times the normal time and MAYBE you’ll return to Freeroam, otherwise you’ll crash. HALF THE TIME! That worked fine in 4.

Route creator? Drivatars are so slow as to be pointless, not to mention numerous bugs that took something that worked fine in 4 and now doesn’t work at all.

You can’t manually select a time to beat in Rivals, 95% of the time. Oddly, here and there you can. That worked fine in 4.

Blueprints don’t show lap info and need testing AGAIN if you dare to breath anywhere near them. That worked fine in 4.

Change the type of car in a custom track Blueprint!!! Restest.

Change the weather in in a custom track Blueprint!!! Restest.

Change even the laps in a custom track Blueprint!!! Restest.

So, let’s stop there, because after a nightmare month, we all know the endless list of things that don’t work.

Would be faster to list the stuff the DOES work, because its a far shorter list :slight_smile:

Back to my point.