Online multiplayer questions

I just started playing multiplayer more often, so I apologize if this should be obvious.

1. Is chat disabled/broken on my end, or is it just that most everyone keeps themselves on mute? Whenever I plug my headset in I hear nothing. What settings should I check on my xbox and account? Or am I best advised to avoid the chat anyway?

2. Sometimes I accidentally crash people. I really try not to, but sometimes I’m late on the brakes, or sometimes I"m sideways when I should be on the brakes, and I just don’t have the ability to slow down onto a turn. I obliterated a guy at the end of the high-speed straight on Bathurst last night, by getting a bit sideways when I should have been max on the brakes. Is there any way to apologize for this? Do people use the voice chat for that? If it was 100% my fault, I pull over and wait so they can stay ahead of me, but I don’t do it for small bumps while passing, or if I hit them because they hit the brakes when I think they shouldn’t have, and I’m not sure if people always notice when I do this anyway.

3. Taking cuts: I assume anything that counts as a clean lap is fair game, but otherwise is the prevailing thought that you do whatever you can to decrease your time, or is it unsportsmanlike to take intentionally “dirty” but fast shortcuts?

4. Lines when someone fast is right behind you: do you alter your choice of line when someone behind you is fast enough to pass, to make room? Or the opposite, to block them out? Or neither, and just take whatever line you would in rivals?

5. Do you always know if you hit someone? Sometimes another car is thrashing all over the place (due to lag, I think?) and I assume on their xbox they look normal. If they hit you when they’re like that, do they know? Do I do this to people and not know?