online etiquette

I am pretty new to playing online, and when I do I much prefer playing in private lobbies with goodnpeople, that wanna race and have fun. Not smash into each other but also understand things happen. My question is, being a cockpit view driver, that’s where I get the most feel of driving the car and better times and all that, but I can’t see around me. Even though I do my best to drive clean, stay in my line and all that good stuff, is it bad to stay in that view for multiplayer, etiquette wise? The switch to outside give the whole view but is such a huge change. I drive horribly in the chase view, so before the change, what’s the majority rule here?

There’s nothing wrong with the view. Others I know use bonnet or bumper views. As long as you’re doing your best to be clean there’s not much else you can do; unfortunately idiots out there will still find ways to crash… some even on purpose.

1 Like

Right on. I just didn’t want to be that guy, ya know. As I said I truly try to hold my racing lines and race clean, for the record if ya see my name, I’m doing my best! You don’t want me in chase view, lol!

Cockpit view is fine if you have a quick and simple way to look around/behind you. I recommend mapping Rear View to the Y button.

When in Single Player or “clean air” in Multiplayer I’ll use Bumper Cam, as that’s where I feel the greatest connection to the car.

In Multiplayer traffic however I use Chase Far, and have done so ever since Forza Motorsport 4. The higher camera allows me to see the cars directly beside me, and I have Rear View mapped to the Y button for when the right stick just isn’t fast enough.

Also, if you have the distance ahead/behind UI element active, most cars are within “touching distance” at under 20ft. If you can’t see a car behind you and he’s within that threshold then he’s beside you.