Newbie Question - Pad Or Wheel?

Hi everyone,

Looking to make FH5 my first experience into Forza!

I have done research, but I do want to know if it’s absolutely necessary to have a wheel for this or if I’ll be fine on a gamepad. Thanks in advance!

Until recently, a majority of the players will play on a pad. The wheel set ups for settings have been off, especially on the Horizon series. I have played every Forza game with a pad and I do pretty good for the most part. Play with what feels comfortable to you. A regular controller will work just as good.

Short answer: no, you don’t need a wheel to play any Forza game.

Long answer…

I started playing on a controller and transitioned to a wheel on FH4. You don’t need a wheel, in fact in FH4 I’d say it’s easier to play with a controller. The wheel adds to immersion a lot and I love it but if I’m honest I think I have better results with a controller, especially in dirt/off-road.

The wheel experience is said to be much improved in FH5 but I don’t think anyone can say that it will be better, worse or the same to play with a wheel on FH5. If you want to play with a wheel for the experience, go for it, as I did but if you want to be competitive, play with a controller, wait for feedback regarding the wheel implementation and make a decision later.

Here’s the weird part… I can’t imagine playing Forza Motorsport 7 with a controller. I don’t even know what’s best in Motorsport, I just do everything with the wheel and to be honest, I find the two games handling very different and I’m hoping Horizon 5 gets closer to the wheel experience of Motorsport 7.

1 Like

Wheel support is improved for 5, but these are games that still feel pretty good on a gamepad. There are a few hidden assists on gamepad, but nothing obtrusive like the hidden keyboard assists.