How to use manual with clutch?

I’m totally new to the Forza series and I’m having a hard time while using the manual with clutch transmission. Is there any tips and hints whenever using so? Do I have to let off the throttle, engage the clutch and change gears just like in real life or what?

Get a wheel with pedals. Otherwise, use manual without clutch. This was a hot topic of debate back with FM4, since it seems it’s possible to get a miniscule improvement in track times with it. But this is Horizon, more arcade than sim. Don’t torture yourself.

Erm… you do not need a wheel and pedals to use clutch. Controller is fine.

Back to your question, MoneyMan300 video on youtube explains it rather well. Though on Forza Motorsport 5 the same applies to Forza Horizon 2

I personally use LB-Clutch, X/B-Up & Down.

If you do need more help after watching the tutorial then post back here, many of us will gladly help out :slight_smile:

I never said you couldn’t. I said he shouldn’t torture himself with it on a controller in this arcade racer (even if it does have some sim pedigree). Clutchless shifting is fine. What really matters is manually choosing the gear/RPM for best control. Some milliseconds of shifting advantage for those with the nimblest and most proficient fingers won’t matter much here, and times will be worse for anyone who is all thumbs.

Someone actually posted time differences in a mile drag race using the same car and auto, manual, man w/cluth and i believe over the course of the drag race man w/ clutch was around .5 seconds faster than manual. So theres a much bigger difference than you think. Now think of that over the course of a 2 mile average race where you are shifting nearly 25x in a lap apposed to 2-6. The effect is compounded. I believe its something liek around 1 sec per lap difference.