How far on automatic?

I am pretty new to FH3 and haven’t played a racing game since Gran Turismo 2. Since getting the game, I have been working on my circuit racing. I am getting my braking, cornering and acceleration timings down and I believe I am doing fairly well for a 2 week vet. I have moved drivatar diff to third from hardest and disabled all but one of the assists. My limitation is the transmission. Maybe it’s just a matter of age, but my brain just doesn’t think “Thumb Press” when it comes to shifting gears. I have been tweaking the tunings of my cars to make up some for this handicap and for some cars this means perpetually coming in no better than third. So I am curious as to just how far I can expect to take the game’s difficulty before the automatic transmission simply will not be able to keep up or I will have to break down and get a wheel and pedals controller?

I too have a very stupid right thumb. It does come with age. You can go as far as you want with Automatic. I have many top 25 times in the world on Rivals in all classes. One of my club mates has had the nr. 1 time on several courses and we both drive automatics. When I do a race, which is rare, I race with the drivatars on unbeatable and I always win, maybe come in 2nd once or twice, but rarely does that happen. What matters most is you setup. Get a good setup, practice the courses so you know the line you need to drive, and practice, practice, practice.

Just my 2 cents worth.