Dampening Discussion

I have a good overall understanding of tuning in Forza. I’m not an expert but I understand the concepts and equations to get a balanced base set up. I could use some help on dampening.

I am seeing open source tunes and calculator tunes setting the bump very low in the 2-3 range and the rebound around 6 and some tunes going as high as 11.

When I use those settings on most cars there seems to be too much roll and weight transfer. My tunes seem more stable with the rebound between 6-8 and the bump at 66% of the rebound. So if my rebound is 7.8 the bump would be 5.1.

Thoughts?

There’s roll because the suspension offers little resistance during compression. But most people do “overall” tunes to account for all tracks in the game, including bump hells such as Rio. This can make cars much softer, more grippy and they roll much more as a result.

When tuning by feel I use this by Niel Roberts

Dampers affect balance in transitions. Springs/ARB’s affect balance steady state. The most difficult thing I find is diagnosing what is really going on especially on tight turns when you are never at steady state. Sometimes I need to save a replay and watch the acceleration vector on telemetry to figure out which way the weight is really moving. It is easy to miss diagnose and tune the wrong direction. It is also easy to end up with a car that actually understeers but is too difficult to drive because the dampers, differential, and brake bias all make it oversteer terribly in and out of the turn.